This guide can help you find the information you need about the new healthcare law.
Last Updated: Jan 14, 2015
These community clinics offer health and/or dental care on a sliding scale or for free. Includes community mental health resources.
- The CARE Clinic
The CARE Clinic provides free quality health care to eligible uninsured, low income adults who live in Cumberland County
- First Choice Community Health Centers
First Choice Community Health Centers provide discounted medical and dental services to the uninsured and underinsured residents of Harnett and surrounding counties thorough a sliding fee program.
- Stedman-Wade Health Services Inc.
Both the Wade Family Medical Center and the Stedman Family Dental Center provide services on a sliding fee scale for those who need it.
- The Cumberland County Public Health Department
The Cumberland County Public Health Department provides an array of services to the citizens of the County. Costs are determined via a sliding fee scale based on household income and overall ability to pay.
- Cape Fear Valley Medical Center
Provides Emergency Care regardless of the ability to pay.
- Alliance Behavioral Health
Alliance Behavioral Healthcare manages public mental health, developmental disability and substance abuse services. 711 Executive Place, Fayetteville NC 28301. 24 information and crisis helpline: 1-800-510-9132
- Community Mental Health Center at Cape Fear Valley
Provides outpaitent mental health services for all ages. Patients are seen be appoinment of a walk-in basis. 910-615-9333, 1724 Roxie Ave, Fayetteville NC 28304
- SRAHEC Family Medical Center
The Southern Regional Area Health Education Center has a family medical center that treats patients of all ages. Health information management, a health library, OB/GYN care, prenatal care, cancer screening, diabetes management and mental health services are available. 910-323-1152. 601 Owen Drive, Fayetteville, N.C. 28304
These are great community resources for diabetes, STD issues, and women's care:
- Better Health of Cumberland County
Better Health of Cumberland County provides services for diabetics, medical equipment loans, and health education and referral services.
- Epidemiology Clinic
Epidemiology Clinic screens for reportable communicable diseases (such as tuberculosis) and provides medication and treatment for these diseases.
- STD Clinic
STD (Sexually Transmitted Disease) Clinic provides services to anyone suspected of having a sexually transmitted disease, and includes screening, diagnosis, treatment and education.
- Women's Preventive Health Services
Women's Preventive Health Services provides screenings for breast and cervical cancer, and family planning services. Fees are based on family size and income.
The Center for Disease Control has declared a flu epidemic after several flu related deaths were reported in December. Learn more about the flu and how to handle the illness through the CDC website and informational video published in 2012.
Affordable Care Act/ Federal Market Place Health Insurance Open Enrollment November 15, 2014- February 15, 2015.
Click on the ACA Info tab for video tutorials and more.
Recent cases of Ebola in the U.S. have sparked interest in the disease. Learn about the virus from the Center for Disease Control.
North Carolina Medical Board: The Consumer Resources Page provides information on:
- Physician Licenses (look up)
- Disciplinary Reports
- Information on Complaint Process
- Articles that address common patient concerns (doctor-patient trust, communication, technology issues)
These resources can help with family planning issues.
- Planned Parenthood
Comprehensive reproductive healthcare, including abortion services, family planning, and STD prevention.
- Maternity Care Clinic
Provide prenatal care to women that will improve the health status of the mother to increase chances of delivering a healthy infant. The services include prenatal care, delivery , high-risk OB care, and lab services.
- Family Planning Clinic
Provides Birth Control Pills, Depo Provera injections, diaphragm and contraceptive foam, IUD checks and removals, and condoms. Provides referrals for natural family planning, Norplant, sterilization (including vasectomies), in addition to education and counseling.
- Agape Pregnancy Support Services
Provides counseling and support services for women experiencing an unintended pregnancy.
- Crisis Pregnancy Center
Provides peer counseling, pregnancy testing and ultrasound exams. Also offers educational programs about STDs, adoption, abortion, and parenting.
Medication access help resources.
- Free Prescription Discount Card
A discount card is available to any county resident with or without prescription coverage; discounts average 24%. Click on the link to print your card and find a list or participating pharmacies.
- Medication Access program
This program is able to provide many prescription medications at little or no cost to individuals without prescription insurance. All applicants must complete an application and appear in person for an interview.