Resources regarding North Carolina genealogy and history that can be found online.
Last Updated: Jan 22, 2013
Available through Library Subscription
- Cumberland County, NC Register of Deeds
Provides all land record indexing data from 1754-1976 (scanned index books) and all land records images from Books 1 (1754) to Book 2083 (February 1968).
- Cumberland County NC Genealogy Site
Part of the NC Genweb network, contains dozens of records online including marriage indexes, obituary indexes, family genealogies, and civil court records.
- North Carolina Family Records Online
Provides materials from the NC State Archives and State Library of North Carolina. This collection has birth, marriage, and death lists from donated family bibles, as well as indices of marriage and death announcements appearing in five North Carolina newspapers from 1799 to 1893.
- North Carolina Maps
This comprehensive collection of historic maps is from the NC State Archives, the NC Collection at UNC Chapel Hill, and the Outer Banks History Center.
- North Carolina Postcard Collection
This digital project has a selection of materials from the North Carolina Postcards Collection, including at least one image for each of North Carolina's 100 counties.
- North Carolina Civil War Image Portfolio Prints and Photographs
Images depicting the war are from woodcuts, engravings, lithographs, and photographs. The majority was made by persons accompanying Union forces or from sketches and other information they provided.
Cumberland County Book Mobile, 1941
- US Census Surveys of Governments
Surveys conducted by the US Census on local, federal, and county government to collect data on their spending, taxation, and revenue. Additional surveys on jails, schools, and libraries are also included.
- NC State Data Center
The state's liason office with the Census Bureau. Compiles demographic information for North Carolina state, county, and city governments.
Free genealogy websites.
Site with searchable indexes, primary records that have been digitized, family trees, and family history books. Also includes large collection of international records.
- Cyndi's List
Online index of thousands of genealogy sites organized by subject.
Volunteer driven genealogy content about every county/state in the US.