Page 2
This is the "Home" page of the "Parenting Guide " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Parenting Guide  

Cumberland County Public Library & Information System Parenting Resources
Last Updated: Sep 15, 2014 URL: http://cumberland.lib.nc.libguides.com/parentingresources Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Parenting

Cover Art
The Birth Order Book - Kevin Leman
Call Number: 155.924
ISBN: 9780800734060
Publication Date: 2009-10-01
This updated edition of Dr. Leman's classic bestseller offers key insights into how birth order affects personality, marriage and relationships, parenting style, career, and children.

Cover Art
Joint Custody with a Jerk - Ross Corcoran; Julie A. Ross; Judy Corcoran
Call Number: 306.89 R REV ED
ISBN: 9780312584207
Publication Date: 2011-08-02
A hands-on, practical guide to communicating with a difficult ex-spouse

Cover Art
The Daddy Shift - Jeremy Adam Smith
Call Number: 306.3615 S
ISBN: 9780807021200
Publication Date: 2009-06-01
Content includes: A stay-at-home dad's history of North America -- Searching for role models : Ed and Rachelle's story -- Stay-at-home economics, or five myths of care-giving fatherhood -- Searching for community : Chien's story -- Interlude : Now you see it, now you don't -- Returning to glory : Ta-Nehisi's story -- The astonishing science of fatherhood, or, three more myths about male care-giving -- Searching for heroism : Kent and Misun's story

Cover Art
Connected Parenting - RSW, Jennifer, MSW Kolari
Call Number: 649.64 K
ISBN: 9781583333440
Publication Date: 2009-05-14

Cover Art
Equally Shared Parenting - Marc Vachon; Amy Vachon; Lisa Belkin (Foreword by)
Call Number: 306.872 V
ISBN: 9780399535581
Publication Date: 2010-01-05
Deals with parenting, sex roles, and dual-career families.

Cover Art
Gay and Lesbian Families - Roman Espejo
Call Number: 306.848 G
ISBN: 9780737743029
Publication Date: 2009-05-29
Deals with various issues faced by same-sex couples and families.

Cover Art
Pressured Parents, Stressed-Out Kids - Wendy S. Grolnick; Kathy Seal
Call Number: 649.1 G
ISBN: 1591025664
Publication Date: 2008-01-31
Focuses on dealing with competition while raising a successful child

Cover Art
Putting Children First - JoAnne Pedro-Carroll
Call Number: 306.89 P
ISBN: 9781583334010
Publication Date: 2010-05-04
The breakup of a family can have an enduring impact on children. However, as Dr. JoAnne Pedro-Carroll explains with clarity and compassion in this powerful book, parents can positively alter the immediate and long-term effects of divorce on their children. The key is proven, emotionally intelligent parenting strategies that promote children's emotional health, resilience, and ability to lead satisfying lives.

Cover Art
Even June Cleaver Would Forget the Juice Box - Sandi Kahn Shelton (Foreword by); Ann L. Dunnewold
Call Number: 649.1 D
ISBN: 0757305466
Publication Date: 2007-04-01
Contains advice on how to banish non-productive guilt, worry, and self-doubt. Encourages readers to say "Yes" to simple ways to take better care of one's self and one's child.

Cover Art
When Will My Grown-Up Kid Grow Up? - Jeffrey Jensen Arnett; Elizabeth Fishel
Call Number: 306.874 A
ISBN: 9780761162414
Publication Date: 2013-05-07
Contains advice for the parents of children who are transitioning into adulthood

Cover Art
NurtureShock - Po Bronson; Ashley Merryman
Call Number: 305.231 B
ISBN: 0446504122
Publication Date: 2009-09-03
Award-winning science journalists Po Bronson and Ashley Merryman demonstrate that many of modern society's strategies for nurturing children are in fact backfiring because key twists in the science of child development have been overlooked. The authors discuss the inverse power of praise, why insufficient sleep adversely affects kids' capacity to learn, why white parents don't talk about race, why kids lie, why evaluation methods for "giftedness" and accompanying programs don't work, and why siblings really fight.

Cover Art
Intuitive Parenting - Debra Snyder; Paul Coleman (Foreword by)
Call Number: 649.151 S
ISBN: 9781582702506
Publication Date: 2010-05-11
Topic include: Excpetional teachers: Our children as our guides; The essence of heartglow; The field of intuitive harmony; The resonance of sound; The resonance of touch; The resonance of love; The sensory exploration approach; Self-healing for parents; Living with an intuitive heart.


Cover Art
Parenting Adopted Adolescents - Gregory C. Keck
Call Number: 649.145 K
ISBN: 9781600062810
Publication Date: 2009-06-15
Topics discussed within this book include: Adolescence, identity formation, loss of the birth family, facing frustration, adopting an adolescent, just when you thought it couldn't get any worse, transracial and transcultural adoptions, turning eighteen, the clinician's role, developing empathy, stories of hope, and random reflections.

Cover Art
Family First - Phil McGraw
Call Number: 306.8509 M
ISBN: 0743264932
Publication Date: 2004-09-14
Dr. Phil McGraw talks about the importance of families. He emphasizes that families are not becoming obsolete and are not simply old-ashioned. He stresses what parents need to stop doing in order to lead their families in such a way that competing messages and influences are drowned out.

 

DVDs

Cover Art
Divorce: Guiding You Through the Process
Call Number: DVD 306.89 D
ISBN: 0891761002019
Publication Date: 2008
Section 1: Legal procedure -- Section 2: Financial implications -- Section 3: Co-parenting strategies.
Featured experts: Victor Morales; Paul Maione; Tracy Ross; Stanley Newmark; Maria C. Mitropoulous

Cover Art
Teens, Sex, and Health
Call Number: DVD 649.1 I
ISBN: 0891761002057
Publication Date: 2008
Disc 1 includes the topics: Message to parents; Female reproductive health; Male reproductive health; Sex 101. Disc 2 includes the topics: Birth control; Sexually transmitted diseases & infections; HIV/AIDS education; Drugs & alcohol effects on sexual health.

There are a lot of myths, rumors and out-dated facts about sex and sexuality. Get accurate, up to date information from experts in the fields related to sexual education. After watching the program, teenagers and parents should be better informed on everything from protection to sexual pharmacology.

Websites

  • American Academy of Pediatrics
    The official site of the American Academy of Pediatrics—an organization of 60,000 pediatricians committed to the optimal physical, mental, and social health and well-being for all infants, children, adolescents, and young adults.
  • Parenting
    This website features information on fertility, pregnancy, baby, toddler, child, recipes, family time, gear, mom, and dad. It also provides links to many other topics of interest to parents with kids of all ages.
  • Plugged in Parents
    Parenting blog dealing with the topics of: Baby, child, adolescents, family, parenting, health, nutrition, and go green.
  • WebMD
    This website provides information on health a-z, drugs and supplements, living healthy, family and pregnancy, and news and experts. It also provides a variety of tools, quizzes, and popular family topics.
 

Parenting videos

 

Discipline

Cover Art
Defuse - Karol Ladd
Call Number: 152.4708 L
ISBN: 9780849907241
Publication Date: 2007-08-07
This book deals with the topics of being the mom you are meant to be, recognizing and dealing with your anger, anger self-assessment for moms, and determining what's worth getting angry over and what's not. Healthy ways to handle anger and survival steps are also included.

Cover Art
Good Kids, Tough Choices - Rushworth M. Kidder
Call Number: 649.64 K
ISBN: 9780470547625
Publication Date: 2010-09-28
A practical analysis and inspiring guide for teaching kids 'ethical fitness'. Parents are beginning to realize that deficiencies in ethics and character are becoming a big problem among our nation's children. According to the latest data, lying, cheating, and rampant insensitivity to other people are increasingly common. What can parents do? In this book, ethics expert Rushworth Kidder shows how to customize interventions to a child's age and temperament. He encourages parents not to give up, since what they do can always make a difference, regardless of how long or deep the bad habits of dishonesty may be. This author encourages parents to intervene early and re-establish children on the right course. The book explores the keys to ethical behavior: Honesty, responsibility, respect, fairness, and compassion. All of Kidder's practical advice is based on the latest psychological and neuroscientific research about how kids develop character and learn what's right and wrong.--Provided by publisher.

Cover Art
The Highly Intuitive Child - Catherine Crawford
Call Number: 155.455 C
ISBN: 0897935098
Publication Date: 2009-03-03
This book focuses on the challenges and stresses often faced by highly intuitive children. It presents advice on how to care for and teach highly intuitive children.

 

Education

Cover Art
Why Boys Fail - Richard Whitmire
Call Number: 370.154 W
ISBN: 9780814415344
Publication Date: 2010-01-13

Cover Art
Boys and Girls Learn Differently! - Michael Gurian; Kathy Stevens (As told to)
Call Number: 370.151 G 10TH ANNIVERSARY ED.
ISBN: 9780470608258
Publication Date: 2010-10-19
"A thoroughly revised edition of the classic resource for understanding gender differences in the classroom. In this profoundly significant book, author Michael Gurian has revised and updated his groundbreaking book that clearly demonstrated how the distinction in hard-wiring and socialized gender differences affects how boys and girls learn. Gurian presents a proven method to educate our children based on brain science, neurological development, and chemical and hormonal disparities. The innovations presented in this book were applied in the classroom and proven successful, with dramatic improvements in test scores, during a two-year study that Gurian and his colleagues conducted in six Missouri school districts. Explores the inherent differences between the developmental neuroscience of boys and girls. Reveals how the brain learns. Explains when same sex classrooms are appropriate, and when they're not. This edition includes new information on a wealth of topics including how to design the ultimate classroom for kids in elementary, secondary, middle, and high school."--Provided by publisher.

Cover Art
The Smarter Preschooler - Mike Mosiman; Renee Mosiman
Call Number: 372.21
ISBN: 0981642659
Publication Date: 2009-09-01

 

Exceptional Children

Cover Art
Autism and Pervasive Developmental Disorders Sourcebook - Joyce Brennfleck Shannon (Editor)
Call Number: R 618.9285 A 2ND ED
ISBN: 9780780811461
Publication Date: 2011-04-01

Cover Art
Raising a Sensory Smart Child - Lindsey Biel; Nancy Peske; Temple Grandin (Foreword by)
Call Number: 649.152 B UPDATED & REV ED
ISBN: 9780143115342
Publication Date: 2009-08-25

Cover Art
Negotiating the Special Education Maze - Winifred Anderson; Cherie Takemoto; Stephen Chitwood; Deidre Hayden
Call Number: 371.9109 N 4TH ED
ISBN: 9781890627461
Publication Date: 2008-03-01
Deals with the topics of beginning the journey, people and procedure, you and your child, referral and evaluation, the evaluation process, the eligibility decision, the individualized education program, placement: crossroads and intersections, the individualized education program meeting, checking up, early intervention for babies and toddlers, transitions, transition plans, resolving disagreements, protection against discrimination, and looking back at the special education maze.

Cover Art
Bright Not Broken - Diane M. Kennedy; Rebecca S. Banks; Temple Grandin (Contribution by)
Call Number: 649.1528 K
ISBN: 9780470623329
Publication Date: 2011-09-13
"Bright, talented children diagnosed with developmental or learning disorders are known as "Twice Exceptional" (or 2e). Because giftedness and disability often mask one another, many 2e kids aren't identified by our current mental health and educational systems--and as a result they don't receive the therapies or special educational services that can minimize their challenges and build on their talents. Despite their giftedness, 2e children often underachieve, drop out, and have poor life outcomes. Bright Not Broken offers parents and professionals proven alternatives for identifying and supporting 2e children.This revolutionary book will resonate with parents and teachers everywhere, showing that there is hope for bright children who have been misunderstood and misdiagnosed. Addresses fundamental problems in our current mental health and education systems and how these impact 2e children. Offers hope for 2e children and shows how to develop their true potential. Contributor Temple Grandin is an internationally known advocate for individuals with autism. This important resource shows parents and educators how to help 2e children become capable adults"--Provided by publisher.

Cover Art
Far from the Tree - Andrew Solomon
ISBN: 9781470346232
Publication Date: 2012-11-13
Andrew Solomon tells the stories of parents who not only learn to deal with their exceptional children but also find profound meaning in doing so (electronic resource).

Cover Art
Should You Medicate Your Child's Mind? - Elizabeth Roberts; Drew Ross (Foreword by)
Call Number: 618.9289 R
ISBN: 9781569243336
Publication Date: 2006-03-24
Includes parenting advice on raising a mentally healthy child, the steps toward diagnosis, information about different disorders and medications

Cover Art
Remarkable Books about Young People with Special Needs - Alison Follos
Call Number: J028.5 F
ISBN: 9781937589134
Publication Date: 2013-07-08
"Matching children with special needs to books and stories that will motivate and engage them, this book is a valuable collection for any parent, grandparent, caregiver, or teacher who lives or works with young people who have disabilities. This vast and varied selection of books offers individuals who may be isolated by their differences the security and companionship of stories they can identify with. Describing more than 100 stories featuring characters who have disabilities--from physical handicaps, ADHD, Asperger's syndrome, and dyslexia to survivors of psychological or physical trauma--the guide points to narratives that can help make these conditions understandable and familiar. Selecting books that dissolve limitations and spark the imagination, this resource helps all kinds of adults and children empathize and truly connect"-Provided by publisher.

 

Homeschooling

Cover Art
Homeschool Your Child for Free - LauraMaery Gold; Joan M. Zielinski
Call Number: 371.042 G UPDATED & REV ED.
ISBN: 9780307451637
Publication Date: 2009-08-04
"Introduced in 2000, Homeschool Your Child for Free gave countless parents the plan and peace of mind to get their kids' education on the right track. Now, authors Laura Maery Gold and Joan M. Zielinski have revised and updated their popular guide, offering their expert homeschooling advice and information, plus new tools and resources to help you and your child succeed."

Cover Art
The Everything Homeschooling Book - Sherri Linsenbach
Call Number: 371.042 L 2ND ED
ISBN: 9781605501352
Publication Date: 2010-02-18
Covers the topics of homeschool expectations, learning styles and teaching, getting started homeschooling, types of homeschooling, answering the socialization question, understanding unschooling and unit studies, fun learning activities, frugal homeschooling hints, choosing a curriculum, homeschooling schedules, homeschooling one or several, typical homeschool days, record keeping, organizing your homeschool, homeschooling and the single parent, homeschooling and the two-career family, homeschooling in the early years, homeschooling in the elementary years, homeschooling in the middle years, homeschooling in the teen years, homeschooling special-needs children, veteran homeschoolers and burnout, and college and beyond.

 

Topics of Special Interest

Cover Art
Mom, Sex Is No Big Deal! - Sharon Hersh
Call Number: 248.8431 H
ISBN: 0877882029
Publication Date: 2006-04-18
Introduction: You're on holy ground -- Understanding your worlds -- Sex and your daughter -- Sex and you -- Sex, you, and your mothering -- Sex, your daughter, and you -- Building a bridge between your worlds -- "Mom, it's not the same as when you were a teenager!" -- "Mom, we're not having sex!" -- "But mom, I love him!" -- "Mom, it's my body!" -- Conquering roadblocks to relationships -- Abusive dating relationships -- Addictive teenage relationships -- Questions regarding sexual orientation -- Conclusion: The healing story.

Cover Art
A Parent's Guide to Raising Grieving Children - Phyllis R. Silverman; Madelyn Kelly
Call Number: 155.937 S
ISBN: 0195328841
Publication Date: 2009-04-02
This book is intended to help parents and children to cope with death. The issue of how children perceive death at different ages is addressed. The different venues through which formal help can be found are also discussed.

Developing Character in Teens with Love and Logic - Jim Fay (Read by)
Call Number: BOOK CD 649.7 F
ISBN: 1930429096
Publication Date: 2000-09-01
This book CD is divided into nine sessions: Introduction, greetings from Jim Fay, kids' contributions to the family, four steps, consequences, the importance of chores, rewards, Dr. Charlie, and Randy. It deals with the overall topics of discipline, parenting, and responsibility.

Cover Art
Teen Drug Abuse - David M. Haugen
Call Number: 362.29 T
ISBN: 0737733357
Publication Date: 2006-08-25

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Jennifer Hatcher
Contact Info
Send Email
 

Infants

Cover Art
Happy Endings, New Beginnings - Susan Benjamin Feingold
Call Number: 618.76 F
ISBN: 0882824023
Publication Date: 2013-02-05
"...presents her unique approach for navigating the journey through postpartum disorders. Guiding women through the challenges, feelings and distressing symptoms, she leads them to a new view of the postpartum experience and how to make it a positive, life-changing event. " --P. [4] of cover.

Cover Art
The Mommy MD Guide to Your Baby's First Year - Rallie McAllister; Jennifer Bright Reich
Call Number: 618.24 M
ISBN: 9780984480425
Publication Date: 2011-10-15
Tips that over seventy doctors who are also mothers use during their baby's first year

Cover Art
Brain Rules for Baby - John Medina
Call Number: 649.1 M
ISBN: 9780979777752
Publication Date: 2010-10-12
Instructs parents on raising intelligent and emotionally stable children, from newborns to toddlers, by encouraging healthy brain activity and development and debunking traditional and contemporary "brain-boosting" methods.

 

Toddlers

Cover Art
Toddlercare Day-by-Day - June M. Thompson (Foreword by); Mike Good (Photographer)
Call Number: 613 M 4TH ED REV & UPDATED
ISBN: 006273671x
Publication Date: 1999-05-01

Cover Art
What to Expect the Second Year - Heidi Murkoff
Call Number: 649.22 M
ISBN: 9780761152774
Publication Date: 2011-04-15
From the first birthday to the second, everything you need to know about caring for, nurturing, understanding, and keeping up with your incredible 1 year old.

 

Preschoolers

Cover Art
Knack Parenting a Preschooler - Robin McClure; Vincent Iannelli; Susana Bates (Photographer)
Call Number: 649.68 M
ISBN: 9781599218755
Publication Date: 2010-06-15
A complete guide to preparing your child for the classroom--ages 3 to 5

Cover Art
Jump into Literacy - Rae Pica
Call Number: 372.6 P
ISBN: 9780876590096
Publication Date: 2007-06-01
Focuses on teaching literacy through music, rhymes, and intereactive activities

 

School Age Children

Cover Art
Smart but Scattered - Peg Dawson; Richard Guare
Call Number: 649.1526 D
ISBN: 9781593859879
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Some of the topics covered in this book include: Identifying your child's strentghs and weakness, laying a foundation, motivation, organization, and building memory, emotional control and flexibility.

Cover Art
How to Develop Your Child's Gifts and Talents in Math - Ronn Yablun
Call Number: 649.68 Y
ISBN: 1565653386
Publication Date: 1995-09-01
This book focuses on how to develop your child's gifts and talents in math during the elementary years.

Cover Art
Yellow Brick Roads - Janet Allen; Philippa Stratton (Editor)
Call Number: 428.4 A
ISBN: 1571103198
Publication Date: 2000-01-01

Cover Art
Reluctant Readers - Ron Jobe; Mary Dayton-Sakari
Call Number: 372.4 J
ISBN: 1551381060
Publication Date: 1999-01-01

 

Teenagers

Cover Art
When Things Get Crazy with Your Teen - Mike Bradley
Call Number: 649.125 B
ISBN: 0071545719
Publication Date: 2008-11-19
This book addresses a wide range of issues that are relevent to parents with teens. Issues dealt with range from weird hairstyles to drug abuse and eating disorders.

Cover Art
Your Defiant Teen - Russell A. Barkley; Arthur L. Robin; Christine M. Benton
Call Number: 649.125 B
ISBN: 9781593855833
Publication Date: 2008-02-02
10 steps to resolve conflict and rebuild your relationship

Cover Art
Smart but Scattered Teens - Richard Guare; Peg Dawson; Colin Guare
Call Number: 306.874 G
ISBN: 9781609182298
Publication Date: 2012-12-17
the "executive skills" program for helping teens reach their potential

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip